Certified Vulnerability Assessor [C)VA]

Course Description: 

The vendor-neutral, Certified Vulnerability Assessor (C)VA certification course helps students understand the importance of vulnerability assessments. The course does this by providing intricate knowledge and skills in the Vulnerability  Assessment arena. The CVA course provides foundational knowledge of general VA tools as well as popular exploits an IT engineer should be familiar with.

The CVA is a fundamental cybersecurity certification course that focuses on vulnerability assessments. Completing the CVA course gives the student the foundational information on the importance of a Vulnerability Assessment and how it can help an engineer prevent serious break-ins to your organization. In the CVA course, the student will be versed with basic malware and viruses and how they can infiltrate an organization's network. The student will also learn how to assess a company’s security posture and perform a basic vulnerability test to help secure the organization’s networking infrastructure.

Quote a Price

What you’ll learn

  • Understand the importance of vulnerability assessment
  • Learn about the different types of vulnerabilities
  • Assess the network for potential vulnerabilities
  • Assess web servers and applications security
  • Secure and assess remote and VPN services
  • Learn to use the vulnerability assessment tools of the trade
  • Analyze output

Who should attend

This course was designed for the benefit of the following organization roles:

  • Information System Owners
  • Analysts; Ethical Hackers
  • ISSO’s
  • Cyber Security Managers
  • IT Engineer

Key Data

Course Title: Certified Vulnerability Assessor

Duration: 3 Days

Language: English

Class Format Options:

  • Instructor-led classroom
  • Live Online Training


  • Basic Network Understanding

Student Materials:

  • Student Workbook
  • Student Prep Guide
  • CPEs: 24

Student Materials:

  • Student Workbook

Course Outline

    • Module 1 – Why Vulnerability Assessment
    • Module 2 – Vulnerability Types
    • Module 3 – Assessing the Network
    • Module 4 – Assessing Web Servers & Applications
    • Module 5 – Assessing Remote & VPN Services
    • Module 6 – Vulnerability Assessment Tools of the Trade
    • Module 7 – Output Analysis

Exam Information

The Certified Vulnerability Assessor exam is taken online through Mile2’s Assessment and Certification System (“MACS”), which is accessible on your mile2.account. The exam will take 2 hours and consist of 100 multiple-choice questions.

 Accreditations & Acknowledgements

Mile2 is:

  • ACCREDITED by the NSA CNSS 4011-4016
  • MAPPED to NIST / Homeland Security NICCS’s Cyber Security Workforce Framework
  • APPROVED on the FBI Cyber Security Certification Requirement list (Tier 1-3)

Course Highlights

  • Vulnerability Types
  • Assessing Remote & VPN Services
  • Assessing Web Servers & Applications

Get Quote